Headless Chicken

You know, this photo is the only calm thing about this week- I really have been rushing around like a headless chicken! It’s just been one of those weeks when humdrum irritating chores have gobbled up time and there’s little to show for all that effort. So I’m cranky.

It doesn’t help that the days are now so short, and overcast, that we only have about an hour a day in which it’s possible to read or knit without switching on a light. Only other people who live further north than Newfoundland can really get how dismal this can make you after a couple of weeks, never mind months (sisterly greetings to you all).

But I’ve survived the week, and am looking forward to a cosy evening of DVDs from the library, knitting (of course- guaranteed balm for the sad soul), and my DS’s cooking, so enough moping!

I promised you a look at my favourite building on the Trinity College Campus a couple of weeks ago, didn’t I? Well, never let it be said that I don’t deliver (although the seaside visit will have to wait, I’m not a masochist!). Well, the courtyard above houses my favourite, which is – totally coincidentally, of course! – the Geology building.

Sorry about the perspective: this is one of the few places in Ireland where it’s forbidden to walk on the grass, simply because the sheer volume of pedestrian traffic on campus would destroy the lawn. Thanks to our climate, it’s pretty difficult to destroy an Irish lawn, but  it would be a shame to risk it here, and us natives should give good example to the tourists! So these photos are a bit too up-close-and personal ‘cos I couldn’t step any further back, but you get the gist, anyway.

Here’s the solid oak front door, with a student for scale. This takes me back, because we UCD students used sometimes travel into town to hear international guest speakers here, despite the generation-spanning rivalry between our two universities (they have the nicer geology building, but we have everything else, of course…).

Above the door we see one of the reasons for “differences of opinion”: the British lion, the Tudor rose, the fortress and a second,  enlarged, portcullis superimposed on the Irish shamrocks- not subtle, our former conquerors!

Other details are just gorgeous, though.

And here comes my favourite part: there’s a belt of carved flowers around the entire building….

….and rumour has it that no two flowers are exactly the same!

On my list of things to do on a free sunny day, taking photos all along this belt to document this claim is quite high up. What if it’s not true, though- do I really want to know? I’ll let you know when I’ve solved this dilemma! For now, the thought of all that loving attention to detail always cheers me up….

Which reminds me: something good did happen this week. You know the mystery vintage Knitalong I’ve been posting about? Well, Christelle, the originator of the quest, has invited me to become co-moderator of her group on Ravelry, and I’m delighted! I’ve never done anything like this before, so here’s another steep learning curve (good against Alzheimer’s). I’ve also produced my very first chart on my new software, which I must show off right now (the instructions for using it are on my project page on Ravelry):

Corner Element Rose Medallion Shawl KAL

I feel just like a Kindergarten child proudly showing The Mammy his gold-star collection!

And now for some technical stuff and photos of the work in progress, starting with an overview:

 The lower right-hand corner of the photo shows the lowest point of the triangle.

This is a single corner of a medallion, and in this case the point of the shawl, too.

Here two motifs were grafted together (round 42 was not knit, and the ends of the thread were deliberately not finished off yet).

The edge motif consists of two corners knit in one piece (note that the last 8 sts remain live and saved on a circular needle for the edging, along with live sts from the medallion sides).

The grand finale, four medallions knitted together in the round, ta-dah!

Actually, when I think about it, it wasn’t such an unproductive week after all. Thanks for listening, you’ve really helped cheer me up!

11 thoughts on “Headless Chicken

  1. Those carved flowers? So lovely, Pauline. But not, I might add, as beautiful as your lace creations. I’m always amazed when I look at your projects. These really are high art!
    My best to you and just know the awards are a way of driving people to your site – cranky or no, you do create snappy posts!
    Sue

  2. my youngest sat with me today to see wonderful lace. Her exact words? “Oohh and pretty. She has mad skills!” And as to cheering you up? Monday’s are always a good day for me for THAT is when Pauline posts…

  3. Thank you for sharing your photos! The building is gorgeous! They don’t make them like that anymore and I think it’s a pity. And that shawl…wow! It’s so beautiful! Anyway, I hope your week starts getting a bit of calm soon!!!

    • Thank you! This week is indeed shaping up much more pleasantly, thank goodness. If you like, you could join the free Knitalong to make the shawl- we’re not starting officially until Jan. 1st, and by then we hope to have assembled a whole pile of helpful hints, for first-timers too. What do you think?

  4. Dear Pauline, I can’t believe my eyes, the medallions are more than beautiful! I wouldn’t have imagined in my wildest knitting dreams how lovely this would turn out, even after all that time spent reworking the pattern! Now I really can’t wait to start. I have to finish a very beautiful (but very long) aran sweater for my beloved (XL) husband for Christmas, and a crocheted Japanese Flowers stole for my dear sister and THEN I’ll be able to cast on for Heirloom… I miss lace knitting for sure (so much I casted on an Orchid Thief in a moment of weakness, but I’m priorizing and won’t touch it again, or only with my eyes to give me strength). Thank you so much, you did a wonderful job. And you know what? The stone flowers are not without reminding me the lace ones… what a beautiful way of linking your subjects! 🙂

Leave a Reply

