My brain is back!

and the grass is greener:

The virus is gone, the cotton wool between my ears has reverted to functional brain cells, and I can think straight, thank goodness. Mind you, now Darragh’s come down with it, and it’s his turn to be thrun on the couch under a heap of afghans and shawls, of which there is of course no shortage in this household. It’s autumn, alright!

Thanks to my dopey state, all I’ve been able to knit recently is the Curve of Pursuit throw by Pat Ashworth that I started last week, it’s been a great comfort, especially as it now keeps my legs nice and warm while I knit. I’ve been making quite a few mistakes, but it’s easy enough to catch and reverse them early on, without stressing out the invalid i.e. me. It’s a perfect design for a convalescent with the fidgets!

So, for want of knitting adventures to share (but tune in next week, I’m bursting with ideas now!), you are cordially invited to Clogher Head, to the north of Dublin, for some fresh air, and just a little bit of geology.

Clogher Head is a rocky promontory which is very geologically significant: it is thought to be part of the suture zone between two continental plates which collided when the Iapetus Ocean closed. Before this happened, the NW part of Ireland was connected to Newfoundland, and the SE half to what is now Europe.

These rocks used to be Iapetus ocean floor sediments which got squashed in the middle. A long time later the Atlantic Ocean opened up as the North American and Eurasian plates started to move apart (and are still doing so today).

Had enough science? I try to remember that not everyone is as inspired by rocks as I am, honest, but I admit that I have been known to get carried away (just ask my long-suffering son!).  These outcrops, for example, tone in with my projects because the people at Cushendales’ choose their colour palette from their natural environment, which is one of the reasons I love their yarns.

By the way, please note that I have my son to thank for a lot of these photos, there’s a lot of teamwork involved in the photographic part of my posts, ‘cos he’s my teacher when it comes to publishing the pics, even when I take them myself.

These rocks have a turbulent history, despite their calming colour.

This one even looks like lace to me: after being compressed it was also sheared, opening up regular arrays of cracks (FYI: these are called en echelon tension gashes, if anyone wants to look them up…).

This is a good way to get ideas, I find.

Here I can see a shawl in green silk, and a textured scarf in brown and gold.

Time to say au revoir to the Irish Sea for now, and the last of the rock roses for this year.

A quick close-up of the pink heather which inspired the Cushendale Lace I used for my Rose trellis shawl (remember last weeks’  Slane pics?):

And now for some lovely feedback, that really cheered up when I was at my most sneezy- thank you to Susan Bahr for all the encouragement and this token of appreciation:

As a new blogger, and one who is not at all social media-savvy, it means a lot to receive such support, and I am thrilled. I get a real kick out of hearing from people all over the world, and discovering how much we have in common (and I don’t mean just knitting!).

So here’s my short list of blogs that help me, make me smile, give me ideas and are generally good for me:

www.aoibheni.com/blog.htm      Aoibhe is the only crochet designer who can tempt me away from my knitting needles, because her designs are gorgeous. Her posts are practical and great fun to read, and she has been a huge help to me in getting started here. Thanks, Aoibhe!

 knitlab.wordpress.com      Kieran Foley posts loads of marvellous photos which I find inspiring, and I love his designs (knitting), too, because he combines colours and curves in a particularly sensuous way….

By the way, both Aoibhe and Kieran are on Ravelry, as well.

katedaviesdesigns.com       Kate posts great photos of Scotland and writes beautifully on many aspects of the history of knitting- addictive! And her designs are legend.

malcolmscorner.wordpress.com      I recently “met” Malcolm and am enjoying the series of short essays in his archives, which cover a wide range of topics which provide me with plenty of food for thought about life, the universe and everything, while I’m knitting up the straightforward bits.

And now for the requested seven things about me:

  • I love dark chocolate with chili
  • I am an avid reader of science fiction
  • A holiday spent sitting on a beach would bore me to tears(yes, even with my knitting)
  • Ditto a cruise (well, maybe in 30 years time I’ll reconsider…)
  • My idea of fun is heading off into SE Asia with a map, plenty of time and no fixed destination
  • The last time I did that was 4 years ago, and I’m raring to go again.
  • I am the proud Mammy of The Best Son in The World TM!
11 thoughts on “My brain is back!

  1. Well, now, I’m content. See Pauline? It doesn’t take too much to keep this cranky little Vermonter happy! Thanks for taking me outside Dublin – I’m a bit of a geology buff – but nothing like you. I live in the foothills of Vermont’s tallest peak – an area carved from and littered with glacier debris. Drive a few miles up to the notch and you’ll see a classic hanging valley – not to mention, a pretty nice view.
    Love that the wool color was inspired from nature – what delicate shades of blues and purples.
    The trees here are letting go of their colors and their leaves. Pretty soon, I’ll be seeing brown and gray and then, white… Ah well, it’s all good. So glad you’re on the mend – better take care of your “technical advisor” and tell him thanks for the help. I loved the photos…

    • Time to get some colourful wool for winter, so! Ireland’s most spectacular glacial features aren’t near Dublin, but I’ll think about a fieldtrip in the spring…..

      • Colorful wool? You betcha – but anything I make won’t be nearly as intricate or artistic as yours. Think olympian vs rank amatuer (no exaggeration). I’ll look for those photos come spring and… I’ll hold you to this!
        I was thinking this morning as I was watching the leaves fall, that it isn’t only the color I’ll miss come winter – it’s the sounds. The Hermit Thrush have long left Vermont for their winter grounds, the rest of the birds have no reason to sing.
        Snow is so quiet. It’s can be eerie to wake and look outside and see a foot of the white stuff everywhere and not have heard a thing. Magical? Yup. But we get a bit stir crazy from the sensory deprivation come March…

      • Well then, I guess I’ll have to visit! Wouldn’t that be a kick, taking a break from the shoveling, slipping and sliding my way down the mountain to get to work? Ah well, one can only dream….

  2. What beautiful photos–and fantastic shawls. I wish I could knit like that. I do knit, mind you, but not so loverly as you. I especially liked the shawl in green silk and the textured brown and gold scarf. You have a creative eye.

    • Thank you! I certainly have years of knitting experience, which is really influencing how I see things now- but sheer enjoyment is the main thing!

  3. Great photos and lovely knits! I wish we had decent hills to climb in the area… But at least, we have the forest and it’s turning yellow!

  4. Oh, beautiful beyond belief! We call the rock roses “sea thrift,” and since I live nowhere near the sea, now I know why!

Leave a Reply

