Summer at Last!

Occasionally, I get distracted from knitting, maybe once in a blue moon. And this week, two special occasions combined to separate me from my circulars. Firstly, the sun shone for six consecutive days, which constituted the most summer I remember for along time (there’s a reason Ireland is so green!). Most Irish people have been wandering around, smiling at everyone and celebrating  their good fortune. If the sun weren’t already so low in the sky we’d all be in hospital by now with sunstroke… Of course, I’ve been out there stocking up on vitamin D with the best of them. Secondly, see above. Yes, Darragh graduated this week (hurray!) and I admitted, in public, that I was old enough to be the mammy of a graduate. Talk about mixed feelings. Anyway, I donned my shining armour, aka Mwaa’s gorgeous EZ 100th Anniversary Camping Half-Circle (shawl, free on Ravelry), assembled the folks, and had a lovely day in the sun.

I used a ball of Midara “Roma” (750m/100g, 100% wool) which I got on sale. Up to recently, I’ve tended to stay away from bright colours,as a result of being conspicuously red-headed all my life, but I find they give me quite a boost, so flamboyant, here I come! I had to search for a dress to go with the shawl (note priorities) and found this one in a charity shop, along with enough lovely grey merino for another shawl. What luck!

Because I had some yarn left over I added another band to the shawl before the edging: 3 repeats of Milanese Lace (on the left side of the photo). To keep the slope consistent with that of the Branching Twigs (right side of photo) I charted the Milanese Lace as a mirror image of itself. The edging doesn’t look as pretty as the original, I think that’s because I used a springy pure wool which objects to being firmly blocked. The body is grand, though, and drapes very well.

So this week I’ve simply been putting the edging on the Froth cape (from Victorian Lace by Jane Sowerby), which is almost a hyperbolic curve at this stage! This would make a great bed-jacket substitute, but I think the number of patt. repeats in the body could safely be reduced for a slender or small person and still make a generously luxuriant garment.

It is the way of edgings to gobble up yarn, and this one has already used the same amount again as the body, with a fair bit to go (note: yarn ca. 930m/100g, 4.5mm needles for body but 4mm needles for edging). It’s very easy and relaxing, though, and non-slippery yarn adds to that (the yo’s used to leap off my needles like lemmimgs during my Ravellenics cardi, but that’s silk-alpaca for you!). Mind you, a couple of times I’ve knit into the fuzzy halo rather than the stitch itself, resulting in an unravelled stitch discovered much later. However, they don’t get far in mohair, get lassoed by trusty safety pins and will be dealt with later (hence pin at corner of cape above). Other emergency gear used: rubber bands on needle as stopper -inelegant, but effective.

Once more, in close up because I love to look at faggotting in fine mohair; those airy curves are so elegant!

Well, as it’s now bucketing down again outside as usual, I think it’s safe to say that Froth is due to get finished and modelled shortly. Yep, the glass is half full!

Leave a Reply

